Preferred Governmental Insurance Trust

[Skip Navigation]

Member and Agent Login
Our Expert Boards Know Your Business

Preferred is governed and guided by people working daily in all segments of Florida’s public sector—from municipalities to counties to schools to special taxing districts.

The Trustees are elected public officials who work diligently to set policy, keeping Preferred as the premier public entity insurer of its kind.


Dwight E. "Ed" Wolf, II
City of Wildwood Mayor
Charles Walsey
Vice Chair
Chair, Cypress Grove C.D.D.
Welton Cadwell Commissioner, Lake Emergency Medical Services
Fred Hawkins, Jr. Commissioner, Osceola County
Chris Hoffman Commissioner, City of Jacksonville Beach
Kathy Bryant
Commissioner, Marion County

A Letter from the PGIT Board of Trustees' Chair

Preferred Governmental Insurance Trust® (Preferred®) continues its steady growth and increasing visibility throughout Florida. With hundreds of members and over $85 million in annualized premiums, your Board of Trustees is working hard to keep Preferred as the premier public entity insurance program available in the state. We continue to accomplish this goal due to the diligent efforts of Public Risk Underwriters®, trust’s administrator, and Preferred Governmental Claim Solutions® (PGCS®), the claims administrator. Their experienced leadership and dedication allow Preferred to continue to provide you with both innovative and optimal insurance solutions.

On behalf of your Board of Trustees, thank you for your participation in Preferred. I encourage you to take advantage of the great programs and services Preferred has to offer.

Thank you for continuing to make Preferred the premier public entity program in Florida.

Ed Wolf
Preferred Board of Trustees’ Chair