Old Plantation Water Control District Receives FASD Safety Award for 2019


Submitted by Chris Kittleson, Director of Loss Control Technical Services - Public Risk Underwriters of Florida, Inc.

Old Plantation Water Control District and Pat O’Quinn, District Superintendent, received the FASD Safety Award for 2019 at the Florida Association of Special Districts (FASD) Annual Conference in Ft. Myers. The Safety Award is sponsored by the District’s participating FASD Associate Member insurance carrier, Preferred Governmental Insurance Trust.

The safety award recognized Old Plantation Water Control District, under the direction of the District Superintendent, Pat O’Quinn for developing an excellent working relationship with Preferred Loss Control in a collaborative effort to mitigate risk to the District as well as its employees. More specifically the District Superintendent was extremely supportive of the District’s safety programming and risk management initiatives.

Mr. O’Quinn utilized a “hands on” and proactive approach to ensure that all aspects of safety were aligned with daily operations of the District. This is evidenced by ensuring all employees are provided with proper safety training, personal protective equipment and the proper tools to safely complete their job duties. In addition, Mr. O’Quinn works to continuously improve the risk profile of the District by consulting with Preferred Loss Control on matters pertaining to safety and health as well as the District’s legal representatives and regulatory bodies to ensure that any and all liability is properly abated.

Southwest Florida PRIMA Chapter Approves Seven Scholarships for Attendance of 2019 Florida State PRIMA Conference

Submitted by Public Risk Underwriters of Florida, Inc.

The Southwest Florida PRIMA Chapter approved seven (7) scholarship applications for attendance to the 2019 Florida State PRIMA Conference held in Naples, October 20-23. The following scholarship applications were approved by the Board:

    – Dawn Shorter, City of North Port

    – Laura Pastore, City of Margate

    – Courtney Buckles, City of Punta Gorda

    – Tarey Franxman, City of Ft. Walton Beach

    – CiCi Messon, City of Lauderhill

    – Aundrekia Williams, Brooks DeBartolo Collegiate High School

     – Melissa Tuck, City of Wildwood

The PRIMA Board elected to award scholarships to individuals outside of the Chapter region to encourage more Risk/HR professionals to join PRIMA and attend the Conference.

We hope that you will be able to attend this great event that is put together by and for HR/Risk Management professionals !

Preferred is a Conference sponsor and proud supporter of Florida PRIMA. We will be manning a booth at the Conference during exhibit hours. Please come by and see us there !

Skip to content